Welcome, everyone! Here’s the program for the 8th Global Investigative Journalism Conference, (#GIJC13), scheduled for October 12-15, 2013, in beautiful Rio de Janeiro. It’s the first time we’re holding the GIJC in the global south, and we’re combining it with two other key events in journalism: the annual Latin America Investigative Journalism Conference (COLPIN), and the International Congress of ABRAJI, Brazil’s investigative journalism association. Panels and workshops will be available in languages as marked: English (Eng), Portuguese (Port), Spanish (Span). Plenary and showcase panels will be translated into all three. There will be streaming video available for all plenary and showcase panels and all those held in the RDC auditorium (C1). We look forward to seeing you in Rio!
View analytic
avatar for Ides Debruyne

Ides Debruyne

Journalismfund.eu vzw
Managing Director
Ides Debruyne is co-founder of Journalismfund.eu vzw (formerly known as the Belgian Pascal Decroos Fund for Investigative Journalism) and the Dutch-Flemish Association of Investigative Journalists (VVOJ). He is managing director of Journalismfund.eu. Debruyne is co-organizer of the European Investigative Journalism Conference (Dataharvest). He is one of the people behind the cross-border journalism course International Research Journalism (Belgium). In 2013 he and his colleague Brigitte Alfter won the Prize for the Freedom and Future of Media. He is the founder of the Belgian non-profit organisation Scriptie vzw (promotes science communication), organising "The Flemish dissertation award, The Flemish PhD Cup and The Flemish dissertation database. (Photo © Toumaj Khakpour)

My Friends

  • avatar for Alain Lallemand
  • avatar for Anuska Delic
  • avatar for Cecilia Anesi
  • avatar for David Schraven
  • avatar for Drew Sullivan
  • avatar for Eric Mwamba
  • avatar for Fiona Macleod
  • avatar for Günter Bartsch
  • avatar for Günter Bartsch
  • avatar for Jens Egil Heftøy
  • avatar for Gabriela Manuli
  • avatar for Journalismfund.eu
  • avatar for Justin Arenstein
  • avatar for Margo Smit
  • avatar for Oleg Khomenok
  • avatar for David Leigh
  • avatar for Miranda Patrucić
  • avatar for Peter Noorlander
  • avatar for Sanne Terlingen
  • avatar for Steffen Kühne
  • avatar for Tommy Kaas