Welcome, everyone! Here’s the program for the 8th Global Investigative Journalism Conference, (#GIJC13), scheduled for October 12-15, 2013, in beautiful Rio de Janeiro. It’s the first time we’re holding the GIJC in the global south, and we’re combining it with two other key events in journalism: the annual Latin America Investigative Journalism Conference (COLPIN), and the International Congress of ABRAJI, Brazil’s investigative journalism association. Panels and workshops will be available in languages as marked: English (Eng), Portuguese (Port), Spanish (Span). Plenary and showcase panels will be translated into all three. There will be streaming video available for all plenary and showcase panels and all those held in the RDC auditorium (C1). We look forward to seeing you in Rio!
avatar for Angelina Nunes

Angelina Nunes

O Globo/Abraji
Assistant editor

Graduated in Journalism in 1982 for UFRJ (Federal University of Rio de Janeiro). Is assistant editor for Rio in O Globo newspaper and coordinates the public administration group of it.

Before join the diary in 1991, she worked in video production, radio, TV and for O Dia newspaper. Post-graduated in Public Policy and Government School (EPPG/Iuperj) and MBA in Executives Programme Infoglobo (Ibmec/Rio, 2006).

Awards: Esso Southeast in 2000 (for "Brasal e o escândalo das quentinhas"), Embratel for Newspapers and Magazines in 2003 (for "Propinoduto"). The series "Homens de bens da Alerj" won, in 2004, the Rey de España, Esso of Journalism, IPYS/Transparency International (special mention), SIP (In-Depth Journalism) awards and was one of the five finals for Premio Fundación Nuevo Periodismo Iberoamericano in 2005.

Won the Vladimir Herzog award in 2007 for the "Os brasileiros que ainda vivem na ditadura" series. The "Favela S/A" series was among the 30 works chosen for the Every Human Has Rights Media Awards 2008, and won the CNH Prize for Economic Journalism in 2008 and the Embratel Prize 2009.

Was also winner of Embratel Prize 2008, with the "Ditadura nas favelas" series, and Esso Award Southeast in 2009 for the "Democracia nas favelas" series. Is member of Abraji board of directors.